From Mechanical Engineer to Software Developer in 5 Months: My Journey as a Digital Nomad

From Mechanical Engineer to Software Developer in 5 Months: My Journey as a Digital Nomad

Making the Transition to Software Development Without a Computer Science Degree

If you're considering transitioning to a career in software development but don't have a background in computer science, it's possible to make the switch and it can be a very rewarding career path.

I can speak from personal experience when I say that software development offers a lot of freedom and flexibility, as well as opportunities for problem-solving and creativity. For me, being able to work from anywhere in the world as a digital nomad was a major motivator.

While I was studying mechanical engineering at university, I started teaching myself HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. I gradually increased the scope and complexity of my projects, and it took some time for me to develop a routine and stay motivated. However, writing down the projects I wanted to complete and using an app called TickTick to track my tasks, meetings, and notes helped me stay organized.

When I felt ready, I started applying for software development jobs. It wasn't easy and I applied to over 130 jobs before I received any callbacks. I tracked my job search using Notion. Eventually, I landed an interview and even though I was nervous and not fully prepared for the technical part, I was offered a software development job despite my background in mechanical engineering.

After experiencing software development for a while, I became interested in cloud infrastructure and management. I expressed my interest in this area to my interviewer during a job search, and they were able to move my application to a DevOps role. This was a risk, but I believe it's important to pursue things that you're passionate about and show that you're willing to learn and adapt.

If you're considering making the switch to software development and you don't have a computer science background, don't give up. With hard work, dedication, and a bit of flexibility, you can achieve your goals of working as a digital nomad or in any location you choose. It's important to focus on learning and networking at the start, rather than worrying about location. As a software developer or DevOps engineer, you'll continue to learn and grow every day. Employers, please consider hiring new developers and offering them support as apprentices – they have a lot to offer and just need some help getting started.